Sawin’ Logs

You know what’s important?  I mean besides races and shoes and new episodes of Bones.

Sleep.

It’s one of those things you don’t fully appreciate until it makes its departure.  When you’re racking up 7 or 8 hours every night, your body isn’t on meltdown.  You’re not craving those midday naps or telling your alarm clock you’d prefer it move to a much warmer climate down south.

But try losing an hour…or two…or three…or SIX.  Yup.  You heard me right.  I snagged two – that’s a single pair – hours last night.  Insomnia is a frequent visitor despite my attempts to end the relationship.  I keep a steady supply of melatonin on hand; I stop drinking caffiene by noon (most days); I workout well before bedtime so those endorphins don’t keep me spinnin’.

But sometimes all that fabulous FitGal plannin’ gets me absolutely nowhere and there I am, watching a Roseanne marathon while in the midst of a Gems With Friends battle royale.

Me after less-than-optimal sleep

Which leads to crankiness and sugar cravings of astronomical proportions the following day.  Because my body desperately wants its normal energy levels back, it latches on the quickest path: white sugar and carbs.  I morph into Ursula the Sea Witch, using those extra legs to grab and snatch all manner of junk.

At least, that’s what I used to do.  Luckily for my body, I don’t keep that sort of thing in the house often.  So when I stray, I don’t get to stray very far.  This morning I “cheated” with Paleo chocolate chip muffins and Annie’s Organic Cheddar Bunnies.  Not my best breakfast choices, but I’ve certainly come a long way from diner pancakes or stuffed french toast (made by the devil himself, I tell you!).

Still – my nice firm heiney continues to drag.  I can drink my coffee and my Shakeology; I can take my scheduled rest day (thank the fitness gods!); I can eat all the healthy foodstuffs my little belly desires.  But the only thing that’s gonna put me back on track is sleep itself.

Of course, tonight is our local Halloween parade.  Of course, the M&M Clan is walking in it.  Of course, we will scarf down some free hot dogs (now that is a serious cheat) and socialize after.  So of course I will head to bed later than I’d like…But…I’ll be ingesting my melatonin and some chamomile tea.  I’ll be turning off the phone and snuggling close to Hubby for warmth (I refuse to jack the heat up yet).  And I’ll be doing my very very best to shut off all the stresses that keep my brain wired like a runner on heavy doses of Gu.

Wish me sweet dreams, SweatItOuters…dreams of medals, and races, and new hiking shoes…

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Leave a Reply

