It’s The Final Countdown

Another run down.  Only one more to go – a lil’ ol’ two-miler tomorrow – and then I’m done until I hit the starting line in Pittsburgh.

And that's with an Instagram filter to tone it down...
And that’s with an Instagram filter to tone it down…

Today was great.  Perfect, even.  The sun is shining.  Temps are in the low 70’s.  Hubby was home so I actually ran outside instead of cracking the windows open and pretending.  I wore shorts.  (My apologies to all drivers for the blinding whiteness of my winter legs.)  Aside from a little allergy-induced heavy breathing, it was a nice, easy little run.

See what I mean? Perfect.
See what I mean? Perfect.

I decided from the start that it wasn’t going to be about pace, which for this gal is a fairly big deal.  Even when I’m not scheduled for a pace run, I am extremely conscious of how fast my feet are movin’.  But today I turned off the voice feedback with mapmyrun and turned on Bossypants by Tina Fey.  (Absolutely hands-down, pee-your-pants, tears-in-the-eyes funny.  Get it in print or audio, but get it now.)  I walked when I remembered to but never for more than my prescribed minute.  I ran most of the time, seeing as how I wasn’t going a long distance.20130530Somehow, I still managed a 10:11 pace.  Which I know is not a speed demon level, but for this tortoise, that’s creepin’ up on Duke-Boys-kinda fast.  I felt energized when I got home so I went ahead and completed the daily CrunchItOut Challenge (check the SweatItOut Facebook page for more info at www.facebook.com/queensweat).  Now I’m sippin’ my Results and Recovery Formula and debating Shakeology combinations for after my shower.

This is the way to end marathon training, folks.  No stress.  Wonderful weather.  Listening to some serious funny while running a comfortable pace.

20130522

I am so ready for that marathon, I feel like I could run all the way to Pittsburgh.

For now, I’ll settle for running upstairs to the shower.

 

Leave a Reply

