Grateful

Thanksgiving looms just seven days away.  I’m doing the whole Facebook-grateful-update-every-day trend because I am a trendy and grateful girl.  But not everyone has access to my highly witty and interesting (and quite modest!) personal profile.  So here’s my thankful blog post, in keeping with the season.
I have lots of stuff that makes me happy.  Yeah, that’s right – stuff makes me happy.  Material stuff. Things like these:

Books about running and food
Books about running and food
My bargain Target slippers
My bargain Target slippers
My onesie jammies, also from Target
My onesie jammies, also from Target

I also enjoy stuff that makes my body feel good, like this:

Fresh fruit in my baskets and bowls
Fresh fruit in my baskets and bowls
Various Yogi Teas
Various Yogi Teas
Shakeology, natch.
Shakeology, natch.

And then there’s the stuff that’s not actual stuff, like this:

My new boss attitude that is both zen and powerful at the same time
My new boss attitude that is both zen and powerful at the same time
Hangin' out with this kid all day
Hangin’ out with this awesomeness all day
Watching these two fight for their rights
Watching these two fight for their rights

 

It’s the last group that I’m most thankful for, although it’s not complete without a mention of The World’s Best Hubby or the furry members of the M&M Clan.  I can also throw in my health and their health, something I come to appreciate more and more as I see my Facebook newsfeed fill with survivors and fighters.

I am thankful for ever-growing knowledge about food sources, sustainable living, and daily practices to bring us all closer to nature and true states of health.  I am thankful that love and human kindness are still very much present if you know where to look.

I am grateful for my home; TWBH’s job that allows me to be my kids’ primary caretaker; the food in our cupboards; the heat in our house; the clothes on our backs.

I could list hundreds more things – that one really beautiful tree in my neighbor’s backyard, the way the Rooster hugs his siblings when they come out of school every day, or how Otis’ fur gets all lit up in the afternoon autumn sun – and I’m also thankful that ending my list is difficult.

Happy Thanksgiving, all.  May it be one you’re grateful to remember.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

