Sexpots Are People Too

Note: This blog post is neither about fitness nor nutrition.  This is me getting up on my soapbox and having a platform from which to shout my own personal views.  So here’s what’s on my mind this morning.

anna-and-elsa1Frozen.  As in the Disney flick.  We took the entire fam to see it and we all fell in love.  Being all full of girl power and a noter of such changes, I was head over heels for the sisterly tale over the usual man-as-savior bit.  (Also a tremendous fan of Brave.)  We loved the music, the characters, the story.  Loved.  It.  Judging by my Facebook feed and the enormous amounts of box office success, I was assuming most people had.

Ah, but then there are always sticklers, aren’t there?

There is a whole crop of mom bloggers griping that Elsa is too sexy.  See, when she decides to stop hiding her sorceress powers and just be her own powerful self, she sheds her high-necked, long-sleeved wool gown in favor of a sparkly form-fitting number that shows off her well-shaped gams.  She shakes out the severe chignon and sets loose her flowing locks.  She wiggles her hips and saunters about in killer heels.

They are also bothered by the fact that (in their view), due to her power, Elsa does not land a beau while her meeker and milder sister snares a man by the film’s end.  What does this show young women, they ask?

Here’s what I think.

First – Elsa the sexpot.  They don’t want her to be sexy.  “Why must she be sexy?” they want to know.  And I guess, really, she doesn’t have to be.  But why shouldn’t she be?  There is nothing wrong with sexy.  We’ve all got a little sexy side (I hope).  Nothing wrong with sex; nothing wrong with sexy.  And yes, before you get all hot under prudent little collars, I do not want my 9-year-old daughter flouncing about in low-cut tops or yoga pants with “Juicy” emblazoned on her rear.  But let’s be honest: Disney wasn’t flashing any sort of age-inappropriate images.  I certainly recognized that Elsa was sexy; my daughter thought she was beautiful.  Our adult thoughts don’t always filter the same way our children’s thoughts do.  (I’m still deciding if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.)

See?  Even I ditch bandanas now and then.
See? Even I ditch bandanas now and then.

Let’s add in that Elsa wasn’t strutting about for anyone other than herself.  That moment – and all of her subsequent moments – had nothing to do with attracting a man.  It was about a young girl owning her power and her true self.  Her true self is damn sexy.  Some of us just can’t help that. (*winkwink*)  Everyone reaches a point in life when they discover their own sexuality and it’s a beautiful thing.  I – for one – loved the empowered woman celebrating herself and delighting in her own power.  Good message.  Accept yourself and sparkle as brightly as you can, even if the masses think you’re kind of odd.

Now, let’s move on to the “meek and mild sister,” Anna.  I found her neither meek nor mild.  She was funny and smart, determined and loving.  Quite a catch.  Here’s the funny thing: most of the mommy bloggers recognized this before they lamented that she was the one with the romantic ending.  So which is it?  Is she awesome in her own right or totally overshadowed by her sister?  Because her power is of a different sort, is she supposed to be passed over until her sister is snatched up and unavailable?  Or is it instead pretty awesome that the funny quirky chick with a more wholesome beauty was noticed even as she stood beside the wildly gorgeous sorceress in the glittery dress?

And an even better question: why must we pit one against the other?  Here I thought I was watching a lovely story about vastly different characters, each with much to offer and celebrate, but instead it was a tale of a ‘ho and misogyny.  I can’t believe I allowed my children to witness such a spectacle!

wickedOh, but right!  We’ve been to see Wicked on Broadway multiple times (we do love Idina Menzel!) – and that’s thematically quite similar.  So I guess I’m cool with it after all.  And I guess we will buy the soundtrack on iTunes and the DVD when it shows up on the Target shelves.

To me, this most recent rash of protest brings to mind the “real women have curves” mentality.  It’s simply pitting women against women on another stage.  If you’re feelin’ sexy, then go on with your sexy self!  And if you’re feelin’ funny, quirky, goofy – celebrate that too!  How about instead of worrying so much that Disney is ruining our daughters, we raise them to understand that movies are entertainment?  That we are their role models?  How about we hold everyday conversations about what sort of women – what sort of people – we and they should strive to be?  You know, rather than get all caught up in the dress of an animated character and how that will destroy our daughter’s morals?

Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

