Takin’ It Old School

My middle child is sick today.  It’s the usual Mid-Winter Special: upset stomach, aches and pains, sluggishness.  Last year, I would have reached for Pepto and Tylenol and plied him with store-bought apple juice.

This year, he smells of peppermint oil rubbed onto his tender belly, Badger Headache Soother, and drinks fresh orange juice from our kitchen.  He’ll be having bone broth and tea in just a bit.  badger

Guess which tactics made for a faster healing?

I know we’re already hedging towards February, but I have decided to set some new goals for 2014.  They all fall under the same heading: Get Back To Basics.  So that’s what I’m doing (and I’m dragging the rest of my OTC-reachin’, buy-it-in-a-bottle family with me).  We are going natural, organic, old school.  I’m talkin’ homemade remedies and aromatherapy, made-from-scratch meals (though those are so 2013, I’m gonna keep ’em around) and fresh juices.  I even make my own cleaning supplies.  Using them is a different story, but I’m working on that too.  Baby steps, my homemaking goddess friends.  Baby steps.

homestead That’s the impetus for the garden we’re planning, my dream of goats (although the suckers are damn cute to boot) and chickens, and our first year as part of a CSA.  (Check out http://www.localharvest.org/ to find a CSA near you.)  The more I know, the less I’m willing to take steps back.  I am taking even bigger strides this next year than I’ve taken prior (and I’ve made some fairly huge strides).

What does this mean for you, Loyal Reader and member of the SweatItOut Nation?  I hope it means you’ll be looking forward to more information as I stumble through the process.  I have posts planned about oil pulling, bone broth, juicing, essential oils, our foray into co-ops, beginning our garden (and those longed-for GOATS!).  I am planning trips to various farms, organic shops, and natural healers.  And of course – I’m still exploring the world of physical fitness, mud races, road races, and all around sweatin’ it out experiences.  goat

Two years ago, I started this blog as a means to share my newfound love of running and exercising.  As I approach February of this year (what I have dubbed my blogiversary), I can’t help but feel a tad choked up over the vast changes my family and I have made and will make.  Our lives are more enriched and fulfilled because we are conscious on so many different levels.  We are aware of our food and where it comes from, how it was grown and raised, and at what cost.  We know which foods will cure which ailments and we understand that what we put on our skin affects us just as much as what we eat and drink.

We also know that strong bodies in motion are fun.  Fitness is meant to be enjoyed.  Running, kickboxing, lifting weights, practicing yoga – it’s all a celebration of health and life and whatnot.  running

Once you ask your body what you can do for it, you’ll be amazed at what it can do for you.

Leave a Reply

