I’ll Drink To That

I am what you might call a “heavy drinker.”

Not that kind of heavy drinker.  I max out at two beers every couple of months.

It is rare that you will catch me without a cup or mug in my hand.  From the moment I wake up (warm lemon water before anything else) until moments before I put my head back on my pillow (Yogi Bedtime tea every night), I am a sipping, gulping, hydrating fool.

So here are the drinks that top my daily list and the reasons I drink them:

Warm Lemon Water

This Ayurvedic practice starts my day by balancing and alkalizing my body’s systems.  In addition to being a digestive aid, warm lemon water boosts my immune system (as I deal with CEBV, you’ll find this is a recurring theme) and promotes healing.  It also does wondrous things for my skin and my breath, but those are secondary reasons for me.

Buttered Coffee

Say huh?  That’s right: buttered coffee.  I brew organic Mexican coffee then blend it with organic pasture butter.  And before you crinkle your nose in disgust, try it.  I do this for a few reasons: I need my caffeine to make me human; the butter gives me some good fats and sates me as I wrangle our three kids for school drop-off; it tastes really freakin’ good.

Water

Do I really need to explain this one?  I don’t think so.  Drink it.  Often.  I do like to add lemon and cucumber slices to mine for a little extra zing and their detox effect.  I also dilute vitamin D and ocotea oil in my water three times a day (one drop of each oil each time).  Again, to aid with the effects of CEBV.

whole30snack2ACV Mix

This drink has made a huge impact on me.  I feel it when I skip a day and not in a good way.  Twice a day, I drink the following mix: 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar (I prefer Bragg’s), 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 2 tablespoons honey, 1 cup of water.  I still, after a year, am not crazy about the taste.  But it helps keep me up and running (it’s another immunity booster plus it helps with CEBV-related skin issues), soothes sore throats quicker than any OTC medication, and curbs my cravings.  I like that so I’ll put up with a less-than-stellar taste.

Shakeology

You knew it was coming, right?  Right now, I’m grooving on the Vegan Chocolate flavor mixed with either almond milk or goat milk and a tablespoon of almond butter.  I drink it right after I workout for a quick pick-me-up and cool-me-off.  Sometimes, I drink it twice a day if I am having huge chocolate cravings.  It works.  shakeology5

Yogi Teas

They use real, good ingredients.  They taste amazing.  I can read the front of the box and find just the tea I need for whatever my body requires.  My favorites right now are Various Yogi TeasGinger (for inflammation and a sometimes queasy stomach), Green (because everyone needs green tea in their lives), and Bedtime (the warmth makes me relax and feel all cozy plus the taste is ridiculously great).  I scored big time last night at Wegmans with two $2 off coupons while the teas were already on sale for $2.99.  Booyah!

 
Various Yogi Teas

Bone Broth

Sometimes beef (I get frozen bones pretty cheap from the Wegmans freezer section) and sometimes chicken (I roast a chicken; Hubby debones it), always with apple cider vinegar and random root veggies thrown in.  I drink around a cup a day and have coerced Hubby into doing the same.  I find I look forward to my warm mug every afternoon.  Why do I drink bone broth?  First off, because my naturopath told me to do so.  Secondly, because it has lots of benefits: reduces inflammation, promotes better sleep (goodbye, insomnia!), and fights off infections (again, deflated immune system over here).

Juice

As in fresh and homemade.  As in a mix of fruits and vegetables.  I vary my recipes (most of which I get from Joe’s Reboot app) and have juice twice a day.  My energy levels tend to skyrocket after I drink it without that unpleasant sugar crash after.  Also, my skin loves it.  Fun fact: nearly every drink on this list boasts healthier, glowing skin as a benefit.  I’m certainly getting there, so don’t hate me as I grown more beautiful.  But that’s in addition to the already well-known benefits of eating (or drinking) your fruits and vegetables.  This way, I can get a lot more nutrients than if I simply ate my servings.  I don’t know about you, but there is never a day when I am hungry enough to chow down 4-5 apples, four cups of spinach, six carrots, 2 beets, four tomatoes, 3 ribs of celery, two oranges…you get the idea.

I will be adding kombucha to the list as soon as I have my SCOBY (symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast), for many of the same reasons I drink the liquids in the list above.  I wish to boost this old immune system and my energy levels.  I hope to rid my skin of the itchy eczema that has descended.  I want my body’s systems balanced and functioning the way they are meant to function.  In short: health.  I want to be healthy.

I’ll drink to that.

Leave a Reply

