Oil of the Week: Wintergreen

oilsIn case you haven’t noticed, I’m kinda on a path here.  I’m always learning, always growing, and (lucky for you!) always sharing.  My latest step in my personal health journey brought me to essential oils.  The discovery of said oils has me smacking my forehead and wondering why I didn’t embrace them sooner.  As mentioned in a previous post, our OTC meds are out the door and our shelves are filling with various oils and blends.  It can be overwhelming when first learning about these magical little oils so I am breaking it down into an Oil of the Week.  First up: wintergreen.

Wintergreen oil, which is distilled from the small evergreen herb’s leaves, has a sweet, minty scent.  Its refreshing, clean taste has made it a favorite flavoring numerous products. Wintergreen contains the same active ingredient (methyl salicylate) as birch and is beneficial in massage for soothing head tension and muscles after exercising.  This oil is also an anti-inflammatory, antiseptic, disinfectant, and a diuretic.  But wait – there’s more!  Check out these uses for wintergreen:

wintergreen1 wintergreen2 wintergreen3 wintergreen41533927_10203099330672256_893764119_n

I use wintergreen in two ways: aromatically (it helps ease my stuffiness and congestion during cold season) and topically (diluted with coconut oil or olive oil) on my temples.  That being said, it smells so amazing, I also use it in my homemade scrubs and lotions as well.

Sweetly Salty Scrub

3/4 cup coconut oil

1 T olive oil

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup celtic sea salt

2 T fresh lemon juice

Wintergreen Essential Oil (or whatever scent you’re loving from Young Living Essential Oils)

Mix all ingredients together.  I like to divvy mine up in small Ball jars like these:

balljar

I buy them by the case at Wegmans, but they can also be found at Target and myriad other stores.  (As an aside, we love the larger blue Ball jars for drinking and pre-making single servings of juice.  They are the perfect size for our hands.  Plus, they look pretty.)

Once divvied, I store the extras in the fridge until I’m ready to use them.  As coconut oil hardens easily, I like to put my small jar (lid on) just by the drain while I’m showering.  By the time I’m ready to use it, it’s the perfect texture to be used.  Be prepared for your own amazement at the sheer divinity of this mix.  #1: it smells good enough to eat (but don’t! That would be wasteful and inadvisable.) and #2: your skin will be so soft and supple you’ll want to touch yourself all day (but don’t! That would be creepy and cause your coworkers to look at you funny).  Seriously: you won’t even need lotion after this.  But I’m giving you a recipe for that anyway because I’m generous like that.

Whip It Good Moisturizer

1 1/2 cups coconut oil

2-3 T raw organic honey

Young Living Essential Oil (in this case, wintergreen)

I start with the coconut oil and a whisk.  I whip it.  I whip it good.  Then I add in the honey and my oil and whip it some more.  I do NOT store this in the fridge because it would totally ruin the whipping effect.  Also, you do NOT need an electric mixer, although that is probably even easier.  But here at SweatItOut, we like to sweat it out.  Build your upper body.  Whip it.

Again, I like the small Ball jars for this mix.  They are the perfect depth for getting every last little bit out.

Now, you may be asking yourself, “Why Young Living Essential Oils?”  Here’s why Young Living, in my ever-so-humble opinion:

1796544_10152232208653035_1257044594_n

All essential oils are not created equal.  These are therapeutic-grade oils meant for healing and they work.  The oils at the grocery store smell quite nice, but they will not provide you with the same benefits.  It’s akin to comparing SlimFast to Shakeology.  Wholly different categories, right?  Right.

Now I bet you wanna know where to get these fabulous oils.  I got ya covered there too: https://www.youngliving.org/queenmill.  Email me at queenie3431@hotmail.com so I can share my lil’ secret on how to get them at wholesale pricing.

 

Leave a Reply

