Essential Oil of the Week: Lavender

Question: What can lavender essential oil be used for?

Answer:  Just about anything.

Lavender

It’s true.  This is like the Queen Mother of all essential oils.  It certainly tops this FitGal’s list.  I diffuse it every night and rub it into the soles of my feet and my children’s feet for a deeper, more restorative sleep.  I add drops to my Epsom salt baths to ease muscle tension and relax my mind.  I add drops to the rinse cycle when I wash sheets and blankets.

And that’s just the beginning.  It’s the ultimate summertime/outdoor time healer.  This summer, we used it on my toddler’s sunburn and gaped in amazement when the redness was simply gone the next morning.  As a family prone to horrid mosquito bites (we are quite sweet), we were pleased to discover it relieves itchiness as well.  Which, of course, leads to me using it on my psoriasis and various rashes.  More skin uses include treatment of acne and reduction of wrinkles.

Lo and behold, as I’m researching for this post, I discover lavender is also a pain relieving oil!  Bless the oil gods and hallelujah! I can rub it into my sore knees and elbows for some delicious-smelling relief.

Another new tidbit I already knew but had forgotten: it’s a natural flavor enhancer.  Check out the recipe for lavender lemonade below.

Now, I’m not just going to drop all this knowledge and leave ya hanging without some DIY recipes you can actually use right now.  I love you too much for that, FitPeeps!

Lavender Wrinkle Reducer

Combine 3 drops of lavender/4 drops of geranium/5 drops of sandalwood/6 drops of frankincense with 3 tablespoons of your favorite base oil (mine is coconut).  OR…Combine 1 drop each of lavender, frankincense, and lemon essential oils and skip the base.  Apply around your eye area or anywhere else you’re feeling the need to iron.

Lavender Body Scrub

Combine 1/2 cup coconut oil, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup sea salt, and lavender oil to desired scent.  Store in glass jar (small Ball jars are my personal favorite because I can easily reach the bottom to scoop out every last bit).  Tip: rub this scrub all over from the neck down before stepping into your shower so the coconut oil doesn’t harden and clog in your pipes.

Lovin’ Lavender Lemonade

*7 lemons, juiced

*2 limes, juiced

*14 cups water

*1 1/2 cups raw honey (or to taste)

*1 drop lavender essential oil (start small and work up if you want to increase the flavor)

Mix ingredients together and chill, daddy-o.

 

 

Leave a Reply

