Baked Veggies ala Me

Okay, so I’m not necessarily sticking that goal of posting five days a week, but I swear it’s for good reasons!  Well, mainly one good reason: my medications are working!  My energy is way up and my pain is way down.  All hail methotrexate!  I’ll gladly trade one day a week and a few minor side effects for six days of being my pre-RA self.  So I’m actually doing stuff when I’m not posting, like for-real cooking for my family with our weekly CSA goodies.

This week, I modified a recipe included with our basket of produce and baked some farm-fresh veggies.  The result was relatively delicious, so long as you’re asking my daughter and myself.  (Boys and veggies are a work in progress in our house, but I’m not giving up just yet.)  Now, you know I prefer my recipes easy and this one is no different.  I think Otis could have managed this one.

IMG_1110
This is Otis. Note, he is not a chef.

Here is the stuff you’re going to need:

1/3 cup EVOO

1 onion, peeled and sliced (I sliced it thick)

3 medium tomatoes, sliced

Sea salt, garlic powder, and freshly ground black pepper, thyme

1 small eggplant, sliced crosswise

2 zucchini, sliced crosswise

Shredded parmesan cheese

IMG_4607IMG_4604IMG_4603IMG_4587IMG_4585

 

Preheat your oven to 400.  Cover the bottom of an 8X8 baking dish with some of your EVOO.  Layer in half of the onion slices and 1/3 of the tomatoes.  Sprinkle generously with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Add a layer of the eggplant and more salt.  Layer another third of the tomatoes, the zucchini, and the remaining onions.  Add the last bit of tomatoes.  Press down the mixture with your hands.  Pour the remaining EVOO over top.  Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and thyme.

Bake uncovered for 1 1/2 hours, pressing veggies down with a spatula about halfway through (they should collapse as they cook).  Add shredded parm to cover; bake another five minutes.  (My failed attempt to involve the boys.)  Let cool for at least ten minutes so it can solidify a bit.  Cut into squares and serve.

Notes: The original recipe called for 2 fresh garlic cloves, thinly sliced, but I didn’t have any, so I subbed the powder.  The same is true of the thyme.  Also, I ran out of time (no pun intended) so I only allowed it to bake for 45 minutes and we didn’t let it cool for very long.  Regardless, it was tasty.  I’d recommend it with a side of quinoa, brown rice, or gluten-free pasta.  I plan on adding leftovers to my omelet tomorrow.

 

 

One thought on “Baked Veggies ala Me

Leave a Reply

