Review: 3-Day Refresh

Let me provide you with a little bit of backstory.

My oldest friend, the girl who taught me to swear and showed me Porky’s for the first time, asked me to be her bridesmaid.  Of course I said yes (as you can see, I owe her a lot) and texted her my measurements for the dress, as we live nearly three hours apart.  (Yes, I note distance by how long it takes to get somewhere.  Miles only matter if I’m running.)  Lo and behold, a few summer picnics and one Jubilee Day later, I tried on the lovely dress and we could not get the zipper up.  I was horrified.  I vowed that no alterations would be needed.  I could handle this.  And handle it I did.

I went home and promptly ordered the 3-Day Refresh, deciding that I would follow it during the three days preceding our departure to the wedding site.  (Side note: we spent four beautiful days in New York’s wine country.  If you get the chance, go there.)  The kit contains the following:  Shakeology (flavor of your choice), Vanilla Fresh protein shakes, Fiber Sweep drinks, and a program guide with recipes (because, yes, you can actually eat).  Here’s how it went.

DAY ONE

Up and at ’em and excited to begin my plan.  First up, drink a full glass of water upon waking.  Easy peasy and a habit I’ll keep.

Breakfast on my first day was pretty typical of me: Vegan Chocolate Shakeology with frozen mango and a dash of vanilla extract, although this time my base was water instead of almond milk.  In the following days, I chose to eat my fruit fresh and on the side rather mixed in my ShakeO.  It was my mental trick, a sort of “Look here, Self!  Look at our ginormous breakfast!” sort of thing.  It worked.

Breakfast Day 1
Breakfast Day 1

Next up, my first mid-morning Fiber Sweep.  Look how excited I was:

Oh, innocent me...
Oh, innocent me…

Tip: mix this in a blender and drink it quickly so it doesn’t settle.  The taste is not awful, though definitely not topping the list of my favorite beverages.  On my first attempt, I tried stirring it and it was no bueno.  Go with the blender approach.

Lunch was good.  I chose avocado, strawberries, and seasoned cucumber slices to go with my Vanilla Fresh protein shake.  Still no cravings.

Lunch Day 1
Lunch Day 1

Dinner was tougher, as the family chowed on pizza and I went with a delicious salad that I pretended was pizza.  But, were it not for the pizza being in the same room, the temptation wouldn’t have entered my mind.  I was sated and craving-free all of Day 1.

Dinner Day 1
Dinner Day 1

And that’s the basic plan.  It’s easy, it’s straightforward, and it works.  I fit into that dress like nobody’s business and even zipped it myownself.  Added bonus: I had more energy and felt better overall.  This is something I will add in throughout the year on a quarterly basis to reboot and clean out.  Which reminds me: there was not the expected…um…urge to poo that I expected.  Whether this is because my typical diet is healthy overall, I don’t know.  Clients that used this program reported the same results, so either I (a) have some pretty nutrition-minded clients (and I like to think I do 😉 ) or (b) this is a pretty gentle program for your system (which I also believe is true).

By the end of the third day, I was gettin’ a tad anxious to finish, but I stuck with it.  My sole “cheat” while on the program was a cup of black coffee on the second and third day.

last dinner
The Last Supper

Here are my personal Before and After Photos with 3-Day Refresh:

b&a

Side note: although it’s not visible in these photos, my psoriasis patches showed marked improvement after the three days as well.  Which only leads me to repeat myself: Diet is the foundation of health and healing.  That’s not news to anyone, right?  But sometimes we need the reminder, myself included.

If you’d like to see the entire album of photos from my experience, check them out here.  If you’d like to try this for yourself, you can get your very own kit here.

In the meantime, here is a photo of me in the dress that started it all:

IMG_9107

Leave a Reply

