Summertime Squash

Are you ready for this?

I have another recipe to share!  I know.  I’m not sure I know myself anymore, either.  I mean – cooking?  Me?

Well, not really.  Because there’s no cooking with this one.  Nary an oven nor a stove to be found.  Pretty sweet, right?

My supplies

So…once again I wanted to get full use of my CSA vegetables.  Short of zucchini bread and other baked goods that are really just zucchini bread masquerading as muffins and such, I was at a loss as to what to do with all that zucchini.  And squash?  Other than spaghetti, I’d never prepared a squash.  Although I do love the shapes and colors of the various squashes, I’d never cooked one.  So I googled and found a recipe that I ended up modifying anyway.  Here’s my take on a summertime salad.

Ingredients

2 medium zucchini

4 yellow hook neck squash

1/2 white onion

Handful fresh parsley, chopped

1/2 cup olive oil

Salt & pepper to taste

Juice of 2 limes

squash3

Now here’s what I did:

Cut zucchini and squash into spears.  Finely chop onion and whisk with the lime juice.  Add oil, salt, pepper, and parsley.  Whisk it up some more.  Add this mixture to the zucchini and squash spears.  Toss the spears until covered in the mixture.  Voila.

Seriously – that’s it.  And it’s faboo.  Even 1/3 of the children enjoyed it.  I paired it with my omelet the morning after and it tasted even better.  Good crunch.  Good flavor.  Great recipe. squash4Just for fun, I followed with this fresh dessert:

For my sweet tooth
For my sweet tooth

You know, because I’m crazy like that.  Always living on the edge.

 

Leave a comment