Just When I Thought I Was Out…

 

“Just when I thought I was out, the pulled me back in!”

It’s happened again.

A race has been dangled in front of me…and of course I want to grab it.

So here goes training for Marathon #2, this time in Pittsburgh and with a buddy.  (See, Nes, it’s in print – kind of – so now we are committed to this thing.)  I’ve got plenty of time to get back into the swing of training – I haven’t been workin’ my Newtons since the Hat Trick – and I’ve got the combined reward of a shiny new medal and time with my gorgeous college roomie.  It’s pretty much a no-brainer.

Of course, there will be logistics to consider for this marathon: hotel room, travel expenses, and whatnot.  But that’s the easy stuff…The hard stuff will come as the winter months drag on and I’ve got longer and longer runs to log.  Not that I haven’t done that before.  Remember how much I rocked last year while prepping for Run for the Red?  Yeah.  I’ll rock twice as much this year.

Because I’ve already got a marathon and all its required training under my ever-smaller belt.  I’ve got a Spartan under there too, and the Hat Trick.  And Insanity.  I think the Pittsburgh Marathon is starting to shake in its boots…

It looks scared, doesn’t it?

Today marked Day #1 of training with an easy peasy 20-minute jog and Burn Circuit 1 with Chalene.  I have decided to drop my two-a-days of TurboFire and ChaLEAN Extreme and do the hybrid schedule with my challenge group instead.  I will not be stressing myself out with over scheduling; I know I can’t fit in every workout my body wants to do, so my requirements are now marathon training and the hybrid.  At least for the next 2 1/2 months…then we move on to the next challenge group…

Anyway – despite a cold and months of insomnia attempting to drag my cute little rear down, I totally kicked ass today and feel fairly fantastic right now.  And I swear that’s not just the E&E formula talkin’.  (It’s the endorphins…)

One thought on “Just When I Thought I Was Out…

  1. Oh my gosh Miller. I was so excited and pretty nervous about the 26 miles in May until I read your blog and now I am so pumped!!! It will be great and of course we can crash together and stay with friends most likely. Can we fit in a yoga class that weekend? And of course a beer or 2 after the race. I think we will deserve it. I am running a 15k this december and then I will start marathon training in January.

Leave a comment